Cologne Conference Futures

6.-7. October 2014, Wallraf-Richartz-Museum


In cooperation with the Institute for Media and Communications Policy, the Zentrale Intelligenz Agentur, the Deutsche Telekom’s Shareground, the Foundation Mercator, with the City of Cologne and with support from WDR – Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln.


The Present Shock and the Legend of the »Digital Society«

Currently, we experience, in a very practical and unique sense, the aftermath of a technological change that was foreshadowed by the development of information theory and cybernetics in the 1940s. Universal and mobile computerisation, intensified surveillance by a military intelligence apparatus, extraordinarily profitable data corporations of a new kind, especially in the United States – all of this does not only concern enterprises, governments or trend researchers, but every individual. Media theorist Douglas Rushkoff refers to this cluster of opportunities and problems as »Present Shock«, thereby expanding Alvin Toffler’s famous notion of the »Future Shock« from 1970.

The international symposium Cologne Conference Futures (CCF) provides a platform for discussing how this Present Shock (Rushkoff: »Why everything happens now«) can be explained by analyses of media and technological evolution. The current debates on »digitalisation« often don’t sufficiently specify the technological, sociological and politico-economic vectors – for example when using the popular but highly problematic phrase of a »digital society«.

For the third time, the Cologne Conference Futures will take place at the Stiftersaal of Cologne’s Wallraf-Richartz-Museum, offering an exchange of ideas with highly esteemed speakers, such as technology historian George Dyson (»Turing’s Cathedral«) and Oxford professor Nick Bostrom (»Superintelligence«). A concluding discussion will debate the geopolitical effects of new power structures in the global information and communication economy, and raise the question whether a »European identity« can and should exist inside this complex.

Montag, October 6

10.00-13.30 UhrOpening/Introduction

10.30-11.45 Uhr, Presentation
»Memes, Tremes and the Future of Consciousness«
Susan Blackmore

11.45-12:12 Uhr, Coffee Break

12.15-13.30 Uhr, Presentation
»From Analog to Digital and Back«
George Dyson

13.30-15.00 Uhr, Lunch

15.00-17.00 Uhr, Presentation
»Superintelligence«
Nick Bostrom

Dienstag, 07. Oktober

10.00-10.15 Uhr, Introduction

10.15-11.30 Uhr, Presentation
»As We May Communicate: Media Imprints on the Techno-Social Construction of Future Culture«
Gundolf S. Freyermuth

11.30-13.00 Uhr, Panel Discussion
»Europa und die Geopolitik des Internets«
Moderated by Hans-Jürgen Jakobs, Handelsblatt
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hagen
Matthias Machnig
Dr. Ulrike Guerot

Cologne Conference Futures

6.-7. Oktober 2014, Wallraf-Richartz-Museum


In Kooperation mit dem Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationspolitik, der Zentralen Intelligenz Agentur, dem Deutsche Telekom Shareground, der Stiftung Mercator, mit der Stadt Köln und mit Unterstützung des WDR – Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln.


Der Schock der Gegenwart und die Legende von der »digitalen Gesellschaft«

Gegenwärtig erleben wir in besonderer und praktischer Weise die Wirkungen eines technologischen Umbruchs, die sich mit der Entwicklung von Informationstheorie und Kybernetik in den 1940er Jahren angedeutet haben. Universelle, mobile Computerisierung, ein intensivierter militärisch-geheimdienstlicher Überwachungskomplex, außerordentlich profitable Daten- und Wissenskonzerne neuen Typs, vor allem in den USA – dies alles beschäftigt nicht mehr nur Unternehmen, Regierungen oder Trendforscher, sondern mittlerweile jeden Bürger. Angesichts dieser Ballung von Chancen und Problemstellungen spricht der Medienforscher Douglas Rushkoff vom »Present Shock«, in Erweiterung von Alvin Tofflers berühmten Beobachtungen zum »Future Shock« aus dem Jahr 1970.

Die internationale Konferenz Cologne Conference Futures (CCF) bietet eine Plattform, um zu diskutieren, wie sich dieser Schock der Gegenwart (Rushkoff: »Why everything happens now«) mit Analysen zur Medien- und Technikevolution erklären lässt. Technologische, soziologische und politökonomische Vektoren werden in den momentanen Debatten zur »Digitalisierung« häufig nicht genügend präzisiert – etwa bei der gängigen aber hochproblematischen Formel einer »digitalen Gesellschaft«.

Zum dritten Mal laden die Cologne Conference Futures in den Stiftersaal des Kölner Wallraf-Richartz-Museum zum Austausch mit hochkarätigen Referenten, unter anderem dem Technikhistoriker George Dyson (»Turings Kathedrake«) und Oxford-Professor Nick Bostrom (»Superintelligence«). In einer Abschlussdiskussion wird danach gefragt, wie sich die neuen Machtgefüge in der globalen Informations- und Kommunikationswirtschaft geopolitisch auswirken und ob es eine »europäische Identität« in diesem Komplex geben soll und kann.

Montag, 06. Oktober

10.00-13.30 Uhr, Einführung

10.30-11.45 Uhr, Presentation
»Memes, Tremes and the Future of Consciousness«
Susan Blackmore

11.45-12:12 Uhr, Kaffeepause

12.15-13.30 Uhr, Presentation
»From Analog to Digital and Back«
George Dyson

13.30-15.00 Uhr, Mittagspause

15.00-17.00 Uhr, Presentation
»Superintelligence«
Nick Bostrom

Dienstag, 07. Oktober

10.00-10.15 Uhr, Begrüßung

10.15-11.30 Uhr, Presentation
»As We May Communicate: Media Imprints on the Techno-Social Construction of Future Culture«
Gundolf S. Freyermuth

11.30-13.00 Uhr, Moderierte Diskussionsrunde
»Europa und die Geopolitik des Internets«
Moderation: Hans-Jürgen Jakobs, Handelsblatt
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hagen
Matthias Machnig
Dr. Ulrike Guerot