Nymphomaniac Vol. II – Director’s Cut

Feature Film | DK, DE, FR, BEL 2013 | 179' | OV

In the second part Joe continues telling the story of her life to the intellectual pensioner Seligman: How after her father’s death she neglects her family to desperately seek out sexual debaucheries in search of true fulfillment. When her body, psyche and finally her family can no longer stand the strain, she has to start over and to confront her demons. Until one final impulsive act leads to her being beaten up in the alley, where Seligman found her. But still, also in the flat of her friendly helper, her story is far from over. After the outrageous ending of part one, this in the director’s cut version expanded second installment does not only guide Joe’s formerly lighthearted escapades into very dark territory but also brings the dialogue based framework plot to a very drastic ending. With a cast of international stars, like Gainsbourg, LaBeouf, Slater, Bell, Thurman and Dafoe that is delivering fearless and intense performance Lars von Trier creates a milestone of modern psycho-sexual drama

In cooperation with ARTE G.E.I.E. and the Film- and Mediafoundation NRW

Director
Lars von Trier
Script
Lars von Trier, Jenle Hall, Vinca Wiedemann
Producer
Louise Vesth
Executive Producers
Peter Aalbæk Jensen, Marie Gade Denessen, Peter Garde
Photography
Manuel Alberto Claro
Editor
Molly Malene Stensgaard
Sound
Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Production Design
Simone Grau Roney
Costumes
Manon Rasmussen
Make Up
Dennis Knudsen
Principal Cast
Charlotte Gainsbourg, Stellan Skarsgård, Stacy Martin, Shia Labeouf, Christian Slater, Jamie Bell, Uma Thurman, Willem Dafoe, Mia Goth, Sophie Kennedy Clark, Connie Nielsen, Michaël Pas, Jean-Marc Barr, Udo Kier

International Sales

Trustnordisk
Filmbyen 22
2650 Hvidovre, Denmark

Domestic Sales

Tele München Gruppe
Kaufingerstraße 24
80331 München

Selected filmography Lars von Trier

THE ELEMENT OF CRIME (1984), MEDEA (1988), EUROPA (1991), BREAKING THE WAVES (1996), THE IDIOTS (1998), DANCER IN THE DARK (2000), THE FIVE OBSTRUCTIONS (2003), DOGVILLE (2003), MANDERLAY (2005), ANTICHRIST (2009), MELANCHOLIA (2011)

Nymphomaniac Vol. II – Director’s Cut

Spielfilm | DK, DE, FR, BEL 2013 | 179' | OV

Im zweiten Teil erzählt Joe dem akademisch gebildeten Rentner Seligman, wie sie nach dem Tod des Vaters ihre Familie zurücklässt, um, zunehmend verzweifelt, in der sexuellen Ausschweifung nach echter Erfüllung zu suchen. Als ihr Körper, ihre Psyche und ihre Familie daran zerbrechen, muss sie einen Neuanfang machen und endlich ihre Dämonen konfrontieren. Eine letzte Impulstat lässt sie in der Gasse enden, wo Seligmann sie fand. Doch auch hier, in der Wohnung ihres freundlichen Helfers, ist ihre Geschichte noch lange nicht vorbei. Nach dem schockierenden Ende des Vorgängers überführt der im Director‘s Cut ebenfalls stark erweiterte zweite Teil nicht nur Joes bisher spielerisch-suchendes Liebesleben in dunkle Abgründe, sondern zieht seine pechschwarze Weltsicht auch in die Rahmenhandlung zu einem wahrlich drastischen Abschluss. Mit einer Reihe von internationalen Stars wie Gainsbourg, LaBeouf, Slater, Bell, Thurman und Dafoe, die allesamt mutige Meisterleistungen abliefern, gelingt von Trier ein Meilenstein des erotischen Psycho-Dramas.

In Kooperation mit ARTE G.E.I.E. und der Film- und Medienstiftung NRW

Director
Lars von Trier
Script
Lars von Trier, Jenle Hall, Vinca Wiedemann
Producer
Louise Vesth
Executive Producers
Peter Aalbæk Jensen, Marie Gade Denessen, Peter Garde
Photography
Manuel Alberto Claro
Editor
Molly Malene Stensgaard
Sound
Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Production Design
Simone Grau Roney
Costumes
Manon Rasmussen
Make Up
Dennis Knudsen
Principal Cast
Charlotte Gainsbourg, Stellan Skarsgård, Stacy Martin, Shia Labeouf, Christian Slater, Jamie Bell, Uma Thurman, Willem Dafoe, Mia Goth, Sophie Kennedy Clark, Connie Nielsen, Michaël Pas, Jean-Marc Barr, Udo Kier

International Sales

Trustnordisk
Filmbyen 22
2650 Hvidovre, Denmark

Domestic Sales

Tele München Gruppe
Kaufingerstraße 24
80331 München

Ausgewählte Filmografie Lars von Trier

THE ELEMENT OF CRIME (1984), MEDEA (1988), EUROPA (1991), BREAKING THE WAVES (1996), THE IDIOTS (1998), DANCER IN THE DARK (2000), THE FIVE OBSTRUCTIONS (2003), DOGVILLE (2003), MANDERLAY (2005), ANTICHRIST (2009), MELANCHOLIA (2011)