Highlights

23. Cologne Conference –
Internationales Film- und Fernsehfestival 2013


With the ceremonial awards the Cologne Conference ended successful on 4th of October 2013. During the six festival days visitors have seen international film and TV notables, such as Götz George, Isabelle Huppert and Harmony Korine live in Cologne.

Already the 23rd time the international film and television festival took place and builds always a constant element of the media scene in North Rhine-Westphalia. The festival series and the lectures again, have shown outstanding television and independent film culture and highlighted current trends and tendencies of the scene.


Opening

Opening with the premiere of TATORT: FRANZISKA with the film team around Tessa Mittelstaedt and Klaus J. Behrendt. Among others Lord Mayor Jürgen Roters and Marc Jan Eumann (Secretary of State for Federal Affairs, Europe and media) spoke some words of welcome.


Premieres and Receptions

The SXSW-Night with presenter Steve Blame who talked to the Head of Film of SXSW, Janet Pierson, via Skype.

The Showcase »Young Documentaries from North Rhine-Westphalia« with the documentaries DER GROSSE DEMOKRATOR, GUERILLA KÖCHE und WER IST THOMAS MÜLLER?. The directors were present as well as the two editors from WDR Jutta Krug and Christiane Hinz.

The final episode of the successful TV seriesBREAKING BAD. The screening was sold out weeks before the festival.

ZDFneo Producer Reception with the presenters Philip Simon and Jan Böhmermann amongst others.

Premiere of SCHIMANSKI: LOVERBOY with the film team around Götz George, Julian Weigend and Chiem van Houweninge.


Lectures

THE BIG SCIENCE SUMMIT with a following Party to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Quarks & Co. The presenter Ranga Yogeshwar, Eckart von Hirschhausen and Frank Schirrmacher were present amongst others.

Kevin Kelly, Dan Gardner and Kathrin Passig were the speakers of the Lecture COLOGNE CONFERENCE FUTURES.

The International Day with the Lecture »Around The World in One Day«.


Delegations

This year the Cologne Conference was happy to welcome two delegations from China and Brasil.


Workshop Discussions and Hollywood Reporter Roundtable

Workshop Discussions with the award winners Susanne Ritter, Frauke Finsterwalder and Christian Kracht, Sibel Kekilli, Isabelle Huppert and Harmony Korine. At the following Hollywood Reporter Roundtable, the award winners discussed together in front of a small audience again.


Solemnly Award Ceremonies

This year’s award winners were Susanne Ritter (German Casting Award), Frauke Finsterwalder and Christian Kracht (The Hollywood Reporter Award), Sibel Kekilli (TV Spielfilm Award), Isabelle Huppert (International Actors Award) and Harmony Korine (Film Award Cologne).

Highlights

23. Cologne Conference –
Internationales Film- und Fernsehfestival 2013


Mit den feierlichen Preisverleihungen ging am 4. Oktober die Cologne Conference 2013 erfolgreich zu Ende. Während der sechs Festivaltage konnten die Besucher internationale Film- und TV-Hochkaräter wie Götz George, Isabelle Huppert, Harmony Korine u.v.a. live in Köln erleben.

Bereits zum 23. Mal fand das internationale Film- und Fernsehfestival nun statt und bildet seit jeher einen festen Bestandteil und Motor der Medienlandschaft NRW. Die Festivalreihen und Lectures zeigten auch in diesem Jahr herausragendes Fernsehen und unabhängige Filmkultur und beleuchteten die aktuellen Trends und Tendenzen der Branche.


Eröffnung

Eröffnung mit der Premiere von TATORT: FRANZISKA mit dem Filmteam um Tessa Mittelstaedt und Klaus J. Behrendt. Zur Begrüßung sprachen u.a. Oberbürgermeister Jürgen Roters und Staatssekretär Marc Jan Eumann.


Premieren und Empfänge

Die SXSW-Night mit Moderator Steve Blame, der per Skype mit der Head of Film des SXSW, Janet Pierson, sprach. Anschließend war die großartige Filmbiographie I AM DIVINE zu sehen.

Die Reihe »Junge Dokus aus NRW« u.a. mit den Dokumentarfilme  DER GROSSE DEMOKRATOR, GUERILLA KÖCHE und WER IST THOMAS MÜLLER?. Die Filmemacher waren genauso anwesend wie die beiden WDR-Redakteurinnen Jutta Krug und Christiane Hinz.

Das Serienfinale der US-amerikanischen Erfolgsserie BREAKING BAD war  in diesem Jahr der Renner beim Publikum. Schon Wochen vorher war die Vorstellung ausverkauft.

Der ZDFneo Produzenten-Empfang u.a. mit den beiden Moderatoren Philip Simon und Jan Böhmermann.

Die Premiere von dem neuen SCHIMANSKI: LOVERBOY mit dem Filmteam um Götz George, Julian Weigend und Chiem van Houweninge.


Lectures

DER GROSSE SCIENCE SUMMIT mit der anschließenden Party zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum von Quarks & Co. Dabei waren u.a. Moderator Ranga Yogeshwar, Eckart von Hirschhausen und Frank Schirrmacher.

Zur COLOGNE CONFERENCE FUTURES waren Kevin Kelly, Dan Gardner und Kathrin Passig zu Gast.

Der International Day mit der Lecture »Um die Welt am einem Tag«.


Delegationen

In diesem Jahr durfte die Cologne Conference jeweils eine Delegation aus China und Brasilien begrüßen.


Werkstattgespräche und Hollywood Reporter Roundtable

Die Werkstattgespräche mit den Preisträgern Susanne Ritter, Frauke Finsterwalder und Christian Kracht, Sibel Kekilli, Isabelle Huppert und Harmony Korine. Im Anschluss diskutierten die Preisträger noch einmal gemeinsam beim Hollywood Reporter Roundtable.


Feierliche Preisverleihungen

Die Preisträger 2013 waren Susanne Ritter (Deutscher Casting-Preis), Frauke Finsterwalder und Christian Kracht (The Hollywood Reporter Award), Sibel Kekilli (TV Spielfilm-Preis), Isabelle Huppert (International Actors Award) und Harmony Korine (Filmpreis Köln).