The Cell

Feature Film | USA 2000 | 107' | OV

A serial killer abducts young women, and drowns them during bizarre rites of lust. The FBI hires a psychologist who specializes in coma patients. Using neurotransmitters to infiltrate the schizophrenic mindscape of the psychopath, her goal is to free the most recent victim from mortal danger.

THE CELL is a cinematic stage play: Tarsem lets Jennifer Lopez loose on a boundless sphere inside the mind, ranging from clinically cold sci-fi confines to the wide open of the Namibian desert. World famous composer Howard Shore adds a marvelously dominant score to Tarsem’s worlds, e.g. in the formidable opening sequence. Though setting a tone in its own right, the score still intertwines closely with Tarsem’s free visions.
Even in the bombastic dream worlds, Tarsem all but foregoes special effects, yet still manages to transform everything real about the sets and the stories in the service of the dramatic opera.
Given his sure directorial hand in this »happy mixture« which is in part a very bloody one, Tarsem’s first feature film is testament not only to his delightfully ingenious approach to film genres, but also to his entertaining and visually unique stylistic capabilities.

Director
Tarsem Singh
Script
Mark Protosevich
Photography
Paul Laufer
Editors
Paul Rubell, Robert Duffy
Sound
James Thornton
Music
Howard Shore
Production Design
Tom Foden, Michael Manson
Principal Cast
Jennifer Lopez, Vince Vaughn, Vincent D’Onofrio
Producers
Julio Caro, Eric McLeod
Executive Producers
Donna Langley, Carolyn Manetti
Production
Avery Pix, Caro McLeod, Katira Productions, New Line Cinema, Radical Media, Warner Bros

Domestic Sales

Kinowelt Filmverleih
Karl-Tauchnitz-Str. 10
Leipzig 04107
Deutschland
Tel.: +49 341 35596-0
info(at)kinowelt.de
www.kinowelt.de

Selected filmography Tarsem Singh

THE CELL (2000), THE FALL (2006)

The Cell

Spielfilm | USA 2000 | 107' | OV

Ein Serienmörder verschleppt junge Frauen und ertränkt sie in bizarren Lust-Zeremonien. Das FBI engagiert eine auf Komapatienten spezialisierte Psychologin, die sich über Neurotransmitter in die schizophrene Gedankenwelt des Psychopathen einschleust, um das letzte Opfer aus ihrer Todesgefahr zu befreien.
THE CELL ist theatralisches Kino: Tarsem lässt Jennifer Lopez auf eine unbegrenzte Gedankenwelt los, mal in klinisch-kalten SciFi-Räumen, mal in den Weiten der namibischen Wüste. Dazu unterlegt der weltbekannte Komponist Howard Shore Tarsems Welten – wie in der  gewichtigen Anfangssequenz – mit einer wunderbar vorherrschenden Tonspur, die sich auf eigenständige Weise mit Tarsems freien Visionen verbrüdert.
Tarsem verzichtet auch in den bombastischen Traumwelten weitestgehend auf Special-Effects und schafft es gleichzeitig, alles Reale der Sets und der Geschichten zu Gunsten der dramatischen Oper zu verwandeln.
Mit seiner sicher geführten, und stellenweise sehr blutigen »happy mixture« beweist Tarsem in seinem ersten Spielfilm nicht nur seine wunderbare Unbefangenheit gegenüber filmischen Genres sondern auch sein unterhaltsames, und visuell einzigartiges Stilvermögen.

Director
Tarsem Singh
Script
Mark Protosevich
Photography
Paul Laufer
Editors
Paul Rubell, Robert Duffy
Sound
James Thornton
Music
Howard Shore
Production Design
Tom Foden, Michael Manson
Principal Cast
Jennifer Lopez, Vince Vaughn, Vincent D’Onofrio
Producers
Julio Caro, Eric McLeod
Executive Producers
Donna Langley, Carolyn Manetti
Production
Avery Pix, Caro McLeod, Katira Productions, New Line Cinema, Radical Media, Warner Bros

Domestic Sales

Kinowelt Filmverleih
Karl-Tauchnitz-Str. 10
Leipzig 04107
Deutschland
Tel.: +49 341 35596-0
info(at)kinowelt.de
www.kinowelt.de

Ausgewählte Filmografie Tarsem Singh

THE CELL (2000), THE FALL (2006)